C-Media Wave Device and 5.1output

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 6:13 pm

Newbie with a Asus P4B533-E, Win2000, Onboard 6 channel C-Media Wave Device, Coax to Sony Receiver, Acid Pro4

I have some faint sound out of the Rear speakers but no direct pan ability. Panning R to L on the front speakers works fine as well as LFE sub. I don't know if I got it set-up correctly or I'm missing something.
My specs are on screenshots at this URL:
http://www.baconzoo.com/acidexample/default.html

Acid 4 - The way the C-Media additional channels are greyed out seem strange.
C-Media - COAX out to receiver only works configured this way. (2-speaker selected w/Spdif) DVD Coax input for Surround works fine on the receiver(Movies.)

Is this a shortcomming with this device?
Set a Homey straight....

User avatar
Cash n Class
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:01 am

Post » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:43 am

ACID requires that any multichannel audio card expose each channel so that the surround mixer in ACID can rout to the appropriate channels.

ACID does not stream through the digital ports with encoded AC3 audio, so the COAX connection to the Sony receiver will most likely not work UNLESS the C-Media Wave Device encodes on the fly or can pass multichannel un-encoded audio. This will depend on also on how the Sony can recieve multichannel audio.

We are looking at solutions for such devices as the C-Media, but currently, unless the audio hardware exposes multiple output devices, ACID will be unable to rout its surround audio to the correct speakers.

Peter
User avatar
Rhysa Hughes
 
Posts: 482
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:00 am

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:04 pm

OK, C-Media looks like it will work with SPDIF and a combination of mini jacks to the receiver but my Sony dosen't have additional surround inputs, only digital. So if I might trade receivers to test this(I do have an Onkyo w/surround inputs.)

I tried a Creative Exitgy USB device with no luck, will a driver or fix be on the horizon or is USB a no-no?

What cards are recommended?
User avatar
Jani Eayon
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 6:19 am

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:20 pm

Any card that has 6 outputs and drivers that expose these outputs will work for surround mixing in ACID 4.

We don't recommend specific audio cards.

Peter
User avatar
Thema
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 8:36 pm

Post » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:17 am

Is having the choices in the audio pref. 'grayed out' a good indication that the card does not have those channels exposed?
Like in this exaple:
http://www.baconzoo.com/acidexample/
User avatar
Neko Jenny
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:29 pm

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:35 pm

Yes. If there is only a single "port" or device available, then you get the greyed combo box.

I have emailed C-Media to get some more info, but have not heard back yet. As soon as I do I will make sure to post here.

Thanks
Peter
User avatar
Sweet Blighty
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 12:39 am

Post » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:40 am

Thanks Peter, I've been trying the Exitgy as well, but no luck. I've read about the driver issues with SB cards, KX project says it's got no love for USB. So can you tell me what cards have tested positive as 'Open to 6-channel input'without recommending one?
User avatar
Mike Plumley
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:45 pm

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 11:14 pm

The Audigy using the Creative ASIO drivers works fine.

I have used the Delta 1010, Echo Layla, MOTU, RME, Dakota, and many other multiple port cards. I have uses these with both their WDM/Wave drivers and ASIO drivers.

Peter
User avatar
Britney Lopez
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:22 am

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 5:02 pm

previously SonicPCH stated that:

Any card that has 6 outputs and drivers that expose these outputs will work for surround mixing in ACID 4.

Yet audigy soundcards don't have 6 separate outputs for each channel.Does the digital outputs stream 6 channels?

Thanks for your patiance!
User avatar
Chris Guerin
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 8:44 am

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 10:08 pm

>>Yet audigy soundcards don't have 6 separate outputs for each channel.Does the >>digital outputs stream 6 channels?

Yes the Audigy does.

You can access them in two ways:

ASIO drivers
DirectSound using positional audio formats.

ACID uses the ASIO drivers to access the 6 seperate outputs.

Peter




User avatar
Brooke Turner
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:13 am

Post » Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:37 am

Thanks so much. I am going out to buy audigy now!
Rick
User avatar
!beef
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:41 am

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:10 pm

just a quick question about setting up audigy2 soundcard for 6 channel preview. Is it throught the digital output of the soundcard? or the 3 audio outputs?
Thanks fo much,
Rick
User avatar
jess hughes
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:10 pm

Post » Fri Jan 15, 2010 8:52 pm

3 audio outs...
I faild at getting the optical or SPDIF to work with 5.1.
User avatar
laila hassan
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:53 am

Post » Sat Jan 16, 2010 4:26 am

With an Audigy there is that pesky "it only works at 48k" issue. What cards do 44.1k 5.1 surround? I know my MOTU 828 will over firewire. What are some other options?

Laurence Kingston
User avatar
Naazhe Perezz
 
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:14 am

Post » Sat Jan 16, 2010 1:56 am

Well...I disabled the c-media device that came with my AMD mobo and opted to use exclusively my emagic AW2 card, and after all these years, it's still doin fine..scary what's goin on with those other cards, cuz I was seriously lookin at m-audio, but whatwith dropouts and such, seemingly inherent in even the "quality" stuff, I'm relegated to "stick it out" for awhile...never have used WDM, and I'm not really pushin it to the limit as far as tracks/plug-ins yet, so maybe it's not an expenditure I need to look at soon...I do have various plugs with PSP, SilverSpike, sonic, etc., but am not plagued with the usual maladies everyone else seems to see with their setup...98SE, ie5.5SP2, 1700+AMD/a7a266mobo, 512DDRam, 2HDs@7200/20 and 60G, acid4, sf6, vv3, cda5+noise2(soon), 52xCDROM, sony161040burner, mackie1202, alesis7.1, sonar131(at the ready)..
User avatar
Wayne Cole
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 11:22 pm


Return to ACID Pro and Music Studio