Opening Sound Forge 9 from Vegas

Post » Tue Jul 13, 2010 6:08 am

In Vegas when I set my ''prefered audio editor' preferences to Sound Forge 9, then right click on an event to open, it doesn't give the option to 'Open in Sound Forge", but rather it says "open in Audio editor."

I know I know, this is pretty knit picky but when you see it read as saying 'Sound Forge 9' it makes your editing decisions go faster.

it does however still open the event in Sound forge 9, I'd just like it to say that in the window.
User avatar
Tanya Parra
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 11:15 pm

Post » Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:06 am

And if you choose Wavelab as your audio editor, should the menu selection change it's text too ?

geoff
User avatar
Alex Blacke
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:46 pm

Post » Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:29 am

I'm assuming that's semi-rhetorical Geoff! Obviously there's (supposed to be) a difference in the way Sony's products interact as opposed to just using a generic audio editor with Vegas.

We've been through all this before when Vegas 5 didn't know about newer versions of Forge and called them "audio editor" and now when I tried the SF9 trial with my copy of Vegas 6 sure enough there is the same problem again.

It *does* make a vital difference - when Vegas thinks it's dealing with a generic audio editor it doesn't send out the start & end point parameters for the region you are editing. That for me was always a crucial part of my workflow in processing parts of a voiceover session.

Does Vegas 7 recognise Sound Forge 9 I wonder? It would be pretty bad planning if it didn't.
User avatar
Darren Chandler
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 3:03 am

Post » Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:54 am


"Does Vegas 7 recognise Sound Forge 9 I wonder? It would be pretty bad planning if it didn't."

It does for me. Open as a copy in Sound Forge works fine, with Vegas 7e and SF 9a

User avatar
Rachel Briere
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 3:09 am

Post » Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:13 am

You would think at this point SMS would have created some kind of identifier file system. In other words have a file located in the newer Sound Forge version install directory that basically says "Sound Forge 9,.0". Make it a general txt file. Then when you set the audio editor in Vegas or Acid it would just look at this file and use that text in the audio editor field. I'm no programmer but even I could come up with something better than this always not up to date with the latest release of Sound Forge stuff where it gets named "preferred audio editor". Even the executable file when you select the audio editor is named Forge50.exe,Forge60.exe,Forge70.exe,Forge80.exe,Forge90.exe....Everyone looking at those names can tell that it's a Sound Forge executable file along with it's version number, yet Sony can't write any code to tell it's a new version of Sound Forge that was released after the latest version of Vegas or Acid???? Give me a break....I could probably even write some reliable code to figure this one out and I don't even know how to write code for "Hello World" yet.
User avatar
Lisa Robb
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 3:13 pm


Return to Sound Forge Pro

cron